I’m clearing out piles of papers on my desk and came across a list I’ve been keeping of animals I’ve seen from the windows or deck here in the last year…. This list isn’t complete but close enough…

Herons, Canada Geese, Bald Eagles, Ospreys, Belted King Fishers, Sandpipers, variety of Ducks (one with ducklings resting on its back as it floated down river), Crows and other blackbirds, Turkey vulture, Numerous Deer (sometimes seen crossing the river), Fisher or Mink ?, Woodchucks, Robins and many common yard birds, variety of Woodpeckers, Red Fox, Red Neck Grebe, Mangausers, Loon, a very old Beaver, cowbirds, orioles, mourning warbler, mourning dove …. and more… many birds I can’t identify because they are too far.

I’ve been taking photos and will eventually set up a page for them.

Today while working on updating this blog and one for the guild I watched from my desk (which faces a window) while Crows harassed an Eagle allowing the ducks to get away. There is a lesson to be learned from the crows… when a situation is too big to handle on your own, get some help!

