I finished the mitten garland barely in time to use it as an advent calendar for the grandkids.

Since I’m still settling into my new space and didn’t have enough of the same type of hand dyed or hand spun yarn, I decided to use 6 different colors of yarn sold in the gift shop at Mt Saviour Monastery.

When the mittens were done, there was enough yarn left over to use 2 or more colors together for small projects. I’ve been experimenting with the linen stitch and how to get nice decreases and so I practiced while making several hats. Below is a green and yellow hat, not shown is a similar hat in blue and white, and a grey, white and red cloche.

There wasn’t enough time to embroider numbers on the mittens so granddaughter Jess made a tag for each one while she was here for Thanksgiving. Today grandson Connor had a day off from school and stopped to pose while attaching the tags to the mittens in the right order. While doing so he suggested colorful little candy canes would fit just right in the mittens.

The only hitch in the project was not thinking through how I was going to attache this to the stone mantle in the living room. Couldn’t come up with a solution so I strung them across the fireplace in the upstairs studio area.

