Whatever happened to Spring? It seems we skipped altogether and went from Winter to Summer.

May 1st found me at the Maryland Sheep and wool Festival where temps soared close to 100. My friend and I had planned on staying all day but by noon we were had enough of the heat and crowds. Although we left early, we managed to get in some shopping. I came home with a woven rug, a necklace and some tools. Despite the heat, we enjoyed the rest of the weekend having visited Ellicott City on Friday and then Inner Harbor on Sunday. On the way home on Monday I picked up some tiny terrarium plants and a black slipper orchid which is living happily next to a white orchid and ready to bloom.

Now at the end of the May I am feeling the heat once again. Yesterday was tolerable, today we are creeping through the 90’s and it is very muggy. I watered potted plants, scrubbed and filled the bird baths and now hiding indoors.

Photos are of some plants in blue pots in the shade, a few photos of the festival, and one of a grandson keeping cool yesterday.

