simple-woman-daybook-large

FOR TODAY (February 2nd, 2009)…

Outside my window.

Dark, cold, but we will be having mild weather today as we did yesterday, a nice change from our frigid temps the last couple of weeks. We are over the coldest month and looking forward to spring.

I am thinking

All that we have going on today. Our daughter is having minor surgery and so we have the kids for the day. Gizzy has an appointment to be groomed … And so it goes… 

 

I am thankful for

 

                                       That Hubby and I are feeling better after a bout with the creeping crud.  That our dog Krystal is recovering from her limp. I think she did herself some damage when she decided to climb a snow hill rather than use the nicely shoveled walk, and then sank and struggled to free herself. She gave me a scare when she came in limping and then crashed flat out on her side at my feet. But, once she was up and around, she was her usual funny princess self, letting me know that she was not happy to be confined to the den. I’m now monitoring food and treats in order to get her back to around 15 pounds. She is a little heavier and it may be the cause of her not being so agile… that and her being a senior dog.

 

From the kitchen 

Not much, still recovering from the crud.

 

 

I am wearing

Crazy hair. I washed my very curly hair and then stepped out on the deck while letting dogs out before my hair was dry. There was a strong breeze and it resulted in Very Big Hair. And no, I’m not going to post a photo.

 

I am creating 

I’m still working on my wine colored wool/alpaca sweater, knit in one piece. I finished the length up to the armholes, put the front sides stitches on stitch holders and am working on the back. I’ve spent a little more time this week spinning, dyeing. Right now I’m spinning a silver silk and will be plying it with a single of Jacob/Angora I spun from a blend from Amazing Grace Farm. I need to take some time soon to work on photos of things I’m working on and things to sell, hopefully my camera will cooperate!

 

I am going 

I have several places I need to go, mainly dropping off or picking up people.

 

I am reading

Still reading… Sabbath… Restoring the Sacred Rhythm of Rest by Wayne Muller. I’m reading only a little bit at a time so that I can study each section and Exercise before moving on to the next.

I also just finished reading Big Stone Gap by Adriana Trigiani.

I’ve started updating my book list on my Reading page, will be adding more books as I come across them. And I’ll be adding comments as I think of them also.

 

 

I am hoping

That Steph’s surgery goes well even though it is something minor, it can be painful.

The we survive the grandkids for the day *G*

That we recover from the crud.

That the weather improves so we can get back to working on the new studio/shed/nest.

 

I am hearing 

The crashing sound caused by the sudden change in temps and fast thaw of snow and ice on the roof, some falling through the downspouts, some just falling off the edge of the roof. Every so often the sound makes us jump and is making the dogs a little edgy.

 

Around the house 

Mixed media supplies have been moved back to the studio and seed catalogs and garden plans are getting some attention

 

One of my favorite

Tiny little trinket boxes that hold jewelry, special stitch markers, etc. Tiny little things just seem to  catch my eye.

 

A few plans for the rest of the week

Get some more studio work done.

Order new dyes for customers who want to do their own dyeing.

Work on items for a March art exhibit.

Get the banner and needle felting supplies ready for Saturday’s guild meeting.

 

A picture thought to share:

 

Jeweled Frog & Dragonfly Trinket Boxes

Jeweled Frog & Dragonfly Trinket Boxes

 To read more about The Simple Woman’s Day Book, visit her blog. http://thesimplewomansdaybook.blogspot.com/