simple-woman-daybook-large

 

FOR TODAY (January 5th, 2009)…

Outside my window… It is still dark, cold, still. Holiday lights are still up on some of the homes.

I am thinking.… Tomorrow is Epiphany, Three Kings Day and of plans how to celebrate it. Also, how well the guild Roc Day went. All the vendors had some sales, we had fun competing in the ‘winter games’, enjoyed the delicious food the members brought to share and the guild raised some money with the raffle… I won a couple of prizes for second place in crocheting and in drop spindling, but didn’t do as well in wheel spinning or knitting… funny because although I learned to crochet when I was 8, I rarely do it. And I use my wheel more than my drop spindle… I guess those things we learn first really do stick with us even when we don’t practice them on a regular basis.

I am thankful for… Friends… that take the time to find out how I am, who will sit and share a cup of coffee or a meal with me, play with me, pray for me, laugh with me, occasionally share a tear, who respect me and accept me as I am.

From the kitchen… Coffee brewing. A rich dark blend, a delicious way to start the morning.

I am wearing… Sleepwear. haven’t yet dressed for the day.

I am creating… I’ve just started some socks, using Donegal yarn I dyed using walnuts. I used residual dye and so the color is more caramel than brown.

I am going… Knitting at the book store,, errands, library, hospital visit.

I am reading… Reference books on writing techniques, stitch patterns, mixed media techniques in preparation for an upcoming project wish/bucket list.

I am hoping… For good things in the New Year, a year without family losses and closer family ties.

I am hearing… Star barking, announcing to the world that she is the boss even if she only weighs 10 pounds.
Around the house… Items from the guild Roc Day are not all yet put away.

 A few plans for the rest of the week… get inventory back on shelves in the studio. Start working on photos of inventory for the studio blog. Work on my exhibit projects for the Entangled Fibers exhibit in March at the Elmira Center for the Arts.

A picture thought to share:

Little plaque - prize from guild winter game..

Little plaque - prize from guild winter game..

To read more about The Simple Woman’s Day Book, visit her blog. http://thesimplewomansdaybook.blogspot.com/

