Once again I’ve been getting nudges from friends who are wondering if I’m ok.  I’m fine if you don’t count the seriously injured toe and the broken tooth, both will hopefully be almost good as new again.  I’ve been busy with garden work and projects and really trying to enjoy the moments.  That means nothing gets done very quickly..  

One of things I love about August are the cool nights and the simple pleasure of a cricket serenade while I soak in the tub with a book after a busy day, and later as I fall asleep.  It makes the oppressive daytime heat and humidity easier for me to cope with.  Strange that someone born on a tropical island would have so much trouble with heat. But, I’ve been transplanted long enough that I’m more acclimated to the colder temps and change of seasons. 

Studio work has been on hold while the house is being scraped and primed for painting and while the attic is being cleared out. We have quite a few warm weather house projects to work on, old houses just need lots of TLC.  

The flower beds are beautiful. I’ve taken some new photos of garden plants but I won’t be doing much work on my garden blog till the bulk of summer work is done and I have time to sit down and work on notes and photos. At the moment these plants are blooming: Angel Trumpets, Coral Bells, Daylilies, Oriental Lilies, Asiatic Lilies, Trumpet Lilies, Rose of Sharons, Calendulas, Obedience plants,  Milkweed, Clematis, Morning Glories (not the weedy kind), Bee Balm, Delphiniums, Camphor, Scabiosa, Purple Coneflowers, Daisies, Black Eyed Susans and more.   Foliage plants such as Hostas help create a bit of calm among all the blooming plants, nice rest for the eye. While we have a lot of color, shapes and sizes going on in the garden, the simple plants or blooms seem to be the ones we enjoy the most. Photos of a few of our favorites.

   Angel Trumpet (Datura)…  In full bloom.  The huge flowers open as night falls, we never tire of watching them unfurl at dusk. 

 This photo is of some that are partially emerged and ready to bloom tonight.

I have more than 35 varieties of daylilies so it is hard to choose a favorite. These are the ones I enjoy the most.

 Daylily Mountain Violet – large blooms, true violet hard to capture.

  Daylily Countess Carrots – small blooms, charming

 Daylily Pandora’s Box – medium blooms, dainty

 Daylily Jen Melon – large blooms, colored like squash blossoms.

  I like this poppy… unusual

  And this Morning Glory

The kitchen garden has been providing us with turnips, tomatoes, lettuce, yellow squash, zucchini, herbs and more, bees are very happy in that area.  Among other things I have Hyssop growing in that garden.  I’ve never grown it before and have no clue what I’ll use it for… it smells wonderful.   

 Here is a garden oddity.  A summer squash with another attached.  It did well for a while and then one side started growing more quickly while the other started to fail.    

What else …      Grandson Connor had a birthday, he is now 2 years old.  I took several photos of his birthday party, this is the one I found most interesting.  Note the toys around him, but he is more interested in the books. I’m thrilled that he loves books and loves to be read to.

And I had a birthday.  My friend Sue surprised me with a cake at the Community Center where spinners and knitters meeting on Friday mornings.  She is a wonderful baker and a good friend.  Here is a photo of the cake.. is it cute or what? It says … Got Wool?

 

A few notable gifts… Friend Judy gave me some dishes. I was really surprised when she gave me these.

.   I’d admired a plate a few months ago when she brought some cookies to a gathering at my house. I told her how much the pattern on the dishes reminded me of the days when we used to grow and sell raspberries.  She’s got a pretty nice car, maybe I’ll let her know how much I admire that… *G* .. just kidding.. I never expected she’d give me the berry dishes!

  From Harold … I was told he found these at some type of sale and thought of me.  They appear to be old hankies made to be sold as souvenir items.  I have some of mom’s dainty hankies and will add these to the collection.  What is funny about all of this is that Harold is a scarecrow that lives with my friend Vickie.  I have the most interesting friends.

  This from daughter Tina, not sure what it is called, I call it a plant tender.  It is blown glass that you fill with water and then poke it down into a pot so it can release the water slowly.  I show it in a pot holding a resting orchid. She picked this up at an art festival we went to in June.   

On my birthday, Tina and I went to a local art festival where I met two vendors who sell yarn and fiber or who have sheep, nice to make some local connections. I found two bracelets that had to come home with me, but managed to avoid any big purchases.  I really enjoyed walking around seeing all the great things people create and then sitting and having lunch outdoors in the square while listening to a band play and sing.

I am grateful for family, friends and the first summer in more than 30 years without any (zero, nada) allergy meds … God is Good!

